Skip to main content

Landscape Architect Gets Fellowship

Lexington Minuteman

August 7, 2013

The American Society of Landscape Architects is elevating Lexington landscape architect Pamela F. Shadley, ASLA, as part of a 33- member group to the ASLA Council of Fellows for 2013.

Shadley received her nomination, for leadership and management, from the Boston Chapter.  Her inspiring business management, project leadership and volunteer service over decades represent a profound contribution to landscape architecture felt at the national, regional and local levels, according to the ASLA.  She works for Shadley Associates, P.C.

The fellowship is among the highest honors the ASLA bestows on members and recognizes the contributions of these individuals to their profession and society at large based on their works, leadership and management, knowledge and service.  The 2013 class of new fellows will be recognized at the 2013 ASLA Annual Meeting & Expo in November.

“One of her core beliefs is that landscape architects cannot make their vital contributions to society without sound business practices that allow firms to thrive.  She herself had long demonstrated an exceptional ability to create sound business environments, which in turn support continued learning and growth.  Further, as she inspired and mentored other women, her unrelenting optimism and vigor demonstrated to others the energizing spirit and possibilities of landscape architecture,” according to the award announcement.

She earned her Bachelor of Architecture from the University of Virginia and Master of Landscape Architecture from the Harvard Graduate School of Design.

The designation of fellow is conferred on individuals in recognition of exceptional accomplishments over a sustained period of time.  Individuals considered for this distinction must be full members of the ASLA in good standing for at least 10 years and must be recommended to the Council of Fellows by the Executive Committee of their local chapter, the Executive Committee of the ASLA or the Executive Committee of the Council of Fellows.

Back to Top